Homebuyer Dream Grants

Homeownership means more than a place to live - it means building a future for yourself, your family and your community. With down payment assistance grants up to $15,000 (HDP traditional) or $10,000 (HDP Plus), the Homebuyer Dream Program makes first-time homeownership attainable.


This year's funding round begins on January 8, 2024.  

For more information or a pre-screening appointment, email our program manager or call (315) 473-0231.

Get mortgage-ready by signing up for Homeownership Counseling with our HUD-certified program. 
Counseling participants get priority access to down payment grants. 

To learn more about the Homebuyer Dream Program and how to get up to $15,000 in grants, visit the Homebuyer Dream Program website or view the Federal Home Loan Bank of New York guidelines.*

How it Works

To be eligible for the Homebuyer Dream Program at Cooperative Federal, you must:

  • Be a first-time homebuyer (have not owned a home in the past 3 years).
  • Meet the 2024 maximum income limits *
    • Homebuyer Dream Program (traditional)
      • $82,960/year for 1+2 person households and $95,404/year for 3+ person households
    • Homebuyer Dream Program Plus
      • $124,440/year for 1+2 person households and $143,106/year for 3+ person households
  • Provide at least $1,000 toward your home purchase from a verifiable source (e.g. gift, income or savings).
  • Complete homebuyer counseling and education requirements.
  • Purchase a home in the following locations:
  • Finance your home with a mortgage through Cooperative Federal.

Participants receive up to $15,000 (HDP traditional) or $10,000 (HDP Plus) in down payment assistance, credited at the time of mortgage closing.

The Homebuyer Dream Program is made possible through the Federal Home Loan Bank of NY (FHLB NY).


Related searches:


These requirements are subject to change and additional criteria may apply. Homebuyer Dream Program funds are available on a limited basis. There is no guarantee that funds will be available when your Reservation Request is submitted. Membership eligibility required.

*Income limits for Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga and Oswego Counties. Contact us for information about income limits in other areas.